Words

Hmmmmm….

Feels rather great to finally express my thoughts on the potency of words without being “shu-shu-ed”(shoo-shooed)….lmao

The notion that we are entirely responsible for how we decide to interpret words thrown at us in daily conversations at work, home, church et all or in different relationships is rather inadequate! I mean, why would you give me a harsh reply to an innocent statement just because you’re having a bad day or because you haven’t learnt to handle your personal issues properly (are you the only one with money issues??) or why would an “ex”- girlfriend expect her relationship with her “ex”-partner continue to thrive after looking him in the eyes and telling him they’re only dating because they had sex and also going the extra mile to let the whole world know they have a misunderstanding (which she caused oh…SMH) by posting a rather lurid statement on facebook….”I have done it again, why do I always pick the wrong ones”….(you didn’t figure he’d be like the “rest” you’ve had till you were nine months into the relationship? Give me a break please…..seriously!

Let’s take a close look at these scenarios…

Scenario A (This conversation ensues about 2 months after telling her bf they’ve been dating just cos they had sex and after long talks between both of them about how she does not value him)

“Hey switz…..howz you doing? Hope your day’s been great. I’ll be on the Island tomorrow morning, think we should hook up. Is 11am cool?”

“bubbles, its cool…would I miss hanging out with you any day?? I’ll just go chill in my sisters office(in Lekki) so I’ll meet you at The Palms when you get to the Island.”

It’s 11:22am…he hasn’t heard from “his” girl and calls her up….

“Switz….wassup, where you at?? Ain’t heard from you….”

“oooops…i’m in Johns’ place”

“seriously? thot we were to hook up? you shoulda at least called to say you were “tied up” instead of letting me just laze around here!” He obviously ends the call rather pissed off…and she finally calls around 2pm to ask if he was still available…

During the course of the week he calls and tries to chat her up and she casually says she doesn’t have any thing to talk about. He stops calling having felt he’d taken enough (can’t begin to gist y’all what this dude has seen…lol). Over the weekend she calls and wants to chat him up but he’s busy trying to figure out his life, brings up what ensued during the week and she authoritatively tells him to shut up! After a couple of hot discussions, she uploads on facebook…

“I have done it again, why do I always pick the wrong ones?”

The guy laughs and calls her up…”so I’m now being compared with rest init?

“biko….fimile! you never seem to accept my flaws”

So leaving your bf waiting and chilling with another guy is now a flaw….please enlighten me!

“Is that so?…your flaws right? ok…” ends call.

He stops calling her and she calls like once a week to…in her own words…”check you up”

After like two months of that “rubbish”…lmao….she calls to ask what’s up with her relationship…rotflmao

“Hey…wassup? You don’t call anymore, no messages….nothing. What’s up with us??

“Hmmmm…seriously? Can’t talk now, let’s talk later…I’m at work”

Its been over a week and he still hasn’t called or sent a message….she calls but he doesn’t pick or return the call…

I still dey watch jooooor….lol

But seriously…here are my thoughts:

She’s already said and done lots of stuff. There are things that one can live with…I assume…but words, words are absolutely different. When they come out in the wrong way, they pierce one’s soul…(jeez…gruesome: causing great horror; horribly repugnant)…they change a lot(take it from me, they change a lot)…even God doesn’t play with His.

I’ll continue some other day but before I leave…

Drop a Thought on Words…..

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Words

  1. Here’s a piece I extracted and thought to share with you all.
    “When I was a kid, my Mum liked to make food for dinner every now & then. I remember one night in particular when she made dinner after a long, hard day at work. On that evening so long ago, my Mum placed a plate of stew and extremely burnt yam in front of my dad. I remember waiting to see if anyone noticed! Yet, all my dad did was reach for his yam, smiled at my Mum and asked me how my day was at school. I don’t remember what I told him that night, but I do remember hearing my Mum apologise to my dad for burning the yam. I’ll never forget what he said: “Honey, I love burnt yam.” Later that night, I went to kiss Daddy good night and I asked him if he really liked his yam burnt. He wrapped me in his arms and said, “Your mama put in a long hard day at work today and she’s real tired. And besides… A burnt yam never hurt anyone but harsh words do!” ‘You know, life is full of imperfect things… And imperfect people.’ ‘I’m not the best at hardly anything, and I forget birthdays and anniversaries just like everyone else’. What I’ve learned over the years is that learning to accept each other’s faults and choosing to celebrate each other’s differences, is one of the most important keys to creating a healthy, growing, and lasting relationship. So…please pass me a plate of yam. And yes, the burnt one will do just fine! Life is too short to wake up with regrets..Love the people who treat you right and have compassion for the ones who don’t. Take time to invest the right things into the life God has given you; get equipped with the right tools..prayer, God’s word, the right friends, the positive habits..etc! Does that seem tough?

Leave a Reply

